Cakes,tarts,sweets, and more cakes

Archive for August 23, 2011

White/Bronze Roses Wedding Cake

An absolutely adorable couple asked me to do their wedding cake.  Their colors were bronze and navy blue.  After meeting they decided on a three tiered white cake, with fresh strawberries and fresh blackberries.  I made all the roses out of gumpaste for the cake. 

When we first started talking about the cake it was before I knew I was pregnant.  I had my baby boy and he was 5 months old when the wedding was to take place.  The bride being the sweet wonderful person she is, asked if I was still ok doing the cake now that I have a new baby to take care of.  I said of course, I said I would do the cake for you and I would never back out now. 

This is a close up picture of the roses.  White roses with a bronze dusting was what was ordered.  I dry brushed the luster dust on.  

The three tiers were covered in fondant, I also made a full sheet kitchen cake that was cut up for the rest of the guests.

After a nerve wrecking ride to the event site, we made it, cake and baby in tow.

Everyone seemed to enjoy the cake and it was a lovely wedding.