Cakes,tarts,sweets, and more cakes

Wedding cake tasting 7/10/11

I had a standard wedding cake tasting.  The bride was uncertain about the type of cake she wanted.  So since I fortunately know the bride and groom I was able to come up with some flavors that they would like.

So I came up with 4 different cakes and fillings. 

One white cake, with a  raspberry, lemon curd filling, and vanilla buttercream.  One white cake, with a raspberry, white chocolate, and cream cheese filling, and a white chocolate cream cheese frosting.  One chocolate cake, with a chocolate hazelnut mousse filling, and chocolate butercream.  One chocolate cake, with chocolate ganache filling, and chocolate butercream. 

I threw the decorations together in thirty minutes, because I did not want to just give them a slice of cake.  

The bride and the maid of honor were going to come to my house for the tasting,  however, there was a mishap and I ended up driving out to them.   It turned out for the best that I went, as the Groom had a chance to taste the cakes as well. 

They unanimously loved the raspberry lemon cake, and also the chocolate hazelnut cake.

2 responses

  1. We loved them all! They all tasted great, and we appreciate that you know us and helped us through this selection. And it was great that there was enough so that when other people began arriving for the next wedding planning task that they could try it as well.

    BTW, I still maintain that it’s called “NuTanya” — delicious, custom-made, chocolate hazelnut. Nom.

    Thank you again for working with us!

    July 28, 2011 at 9:44 am

    • I am really glad you liked them all. It really is fulfilling to make something with your hands, and make people happy at the same time. I will call that filling NuTanya from now on in honor of you and B. =)

      July 28, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Leave a comment